The story of dona castle
The fort was built in 1745 by Chulaybee’s the older son of Dahar El Omar, the Bedouin ruler of the Galilee. The citadel was connected as part of the Ottoman wall that surrounded the city. Ancient walls of the castle are visible on the eastern wall of the citadel, engraved in the basalt stone. In 1837, a major, devastating earthquake destroyed much of the city. The walls of the city fell and the citadel damaged and later was re-built and restored again. The Spanish school Alliance built in 1925 and recently restored is located on the north part of the castle. Later on, a gallery of Tavarian artist Rebecca Gannon has been established in the citadel. In 2007, the castle was purchased and underwent a lengthy process of restoration and reconstruction in order to convert into a boutique Hotel and artist workshops.
The restoration process
Since the fort purchased in 2007, it has undergone a long process of restoration and reconstruction that began with experts in restoration, engineers, the Society for the Conservation of Ancient Buildings and of course the Israeli antiquities authority. A lot of complex work has been done that has restored most of the weathering damages. Most of the work was concentrated inside the building. The arches were restored in the rooms, the periodic plaster and the stone reconstructed. The outside structure preserved as is and is currently concentrating efforts to recover the damaged turrets of the castle.
Nestled within an ancient citadel that was restored with great sensitivity while preserving all original features including restoring the original stone arches in the rooms and maintaining the original partition, we aim to give our guests a periodic and intimate experience that combines history and hospitality with the highest standards. The intimate structure allows groups or families to enjoy the entire castle for their own privacy.